Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimberlysc2015

Suggestions would be wonderful for front of home!

kimberlysc
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm hoping I can get some ideas. I have a long bed in the front of my mobile home. I have 2 hydrangeas one on each end of the bed and 5 hostas in the middle. This year I'm planning on taking the hostas out. They are very old, not taking shape anymore, and as the experts say "they have fairy ring", (the middle is missing). I'm ready for something new. This area will get lots and lots of sun. I wish I had the knack for picking out things, planting them together and they look beautiful. I don't have that ability. I need major help. The bottom part of the trailer is block, I wouldn't even mind having something with some height that covers the block. I would be so grateful if someone could give me some ideas to make the front look nice. I'm still a newbie when it comes to gardening. So much to learn.

Comments (5)

• transplanted2scin07
    15 years ago

Greetings, Kimberlysc! You've come to the right place. I've "met" so many nice, helpful people on this site and helping seems to be something we all love to do.
    First off, dig out your old Hosta on an overcast day or in the evening, if possible. Do not throw them away! Hosta can be divided into smaller clumps of new growth with a sharp spade or even a pruning saw. They actually prefer a shady location so if you have an area on the shady side of your mobile home that is not straight clay, plant them there with a generous dose of water to help them adjust. If it is straight clay, you'll need to add organic matter such as compost or seasoned (non-fresh) manure to the soil first.