Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fairycove

new here! greensboro area

fairycove
15 years ago

I am a past HUGE VETERAN GW'er....used to spend a LOT of time swapping, trading, propagating and more with GW'ers across the world.

I was always jealous of the HEAT UNITS here in NC. Tho similar in zone to OR, you guys just have more HEAT.

So now I have bought bananas and such and even stuck a hibiscus tree in the ground (considering tenting them with wood/plastic tidily to make 'em love the winter)

Everybody says it gets too cold here, but COLD is in the NW. I just don't believe it. I cannot believe the warm rain and when do the lightning bugs come??????

And I saw I missed the Oak Hollow Plant Swap....wish I could've met y'all... maybe next time.

I already wore myself out offering HAVE's and WANTED's on the exchange....

but would love some tips on good sources of plants locally.

I remember reading about a nursery before I moved near winston-salem?

I am excited to go to PLANT DELIGHTS near/in? Raleigh...I used to drool over their catalog!

I found a farm/feed store seems to have some starts.... on S. Elm

Some have suggested NEW GARDEN but I hear it is pricey...

Neighbor pointed me to NELSONS nursery in Deep River, got a lot of neat stuff...

So...help me out gardeneres...I need plants THIS WEEKEND...beds are ready, and room for 'em.... just need to know where to find..??

Appreciate your help and the warm welcomes!!

THANKS!

Meag

Comments (5)

• gbirds
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to the neighborhood! I saw the first firefly of the year last night, which I thought was a bit early, but I've never kept track of those before. Usually see loads of them in June and July.