Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msjay2u

Help me to save the good stuff

msjay2u
14 years ago

I am new to gardening and I have unwittingly destroyed some things that I should have kept. Now that I found this wonderful forum maybe you can help me to know what I have and what I should keep.

I posted all the photos on my blog. Can you help a newbie out? I do have a lot of photos on the blog so you might have to give it a full minute for the page to load. Please don't click the link a second time or it may lock you up.

Thanks!

Here is a link that might be useful: My blog

Comments (18)

• Iris GW
    14 years ago

1. A hickory tree - while a great native tree, you should not let it grow there, it is too close to the house.
    2. Canna lilies - easily moved.
    3. Mixed in with the rose is an Eleagnus shrub (silvery leaves); not native, rather aggressive shrub.
    4. Virginia creeper (5 leaves, a native vine with great fall color) mixed in with Japanese honeysuckle (white/yellow blooms).
    5. Sassafras, a native tree
    6. Smilax, native vine, but rather a pest and quite thorny
    7. A hickory tree (thick vine may be grape)
    8. Looks like a Spirea shrub.

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

Ooh..keep the Sassafras tree..it give spectacular fall color and interesting flowering habit in the spring.

• msjay2u
    Original Author
    14 years ago

esh_ga that is awesome!! I looked up the plants you listed and I agree with all of them but I have to question #1. I do not think this is a hickory tree based on the close up leaf photos I saw on this website (below). These leaves are very soft and they have a lemony fragrance I think it might be something else. Everything else looks right on the money. Now I have to figure out how to get this stuff all thinned out so they can all be in their glory!! I am going to watch that sassafras tree as that seems to be GREAT.