Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plagio

Common landscape plants need ID -- please

plagio
14 years ago

Hi All, I am just getting started with some landscaping. I went out to Broadwell's in Angier, NC, which has been mentioned on this forum before, as a great place to get cheap plants, it's where landscapers, go. A lot of their plants are pretty common varieties. I got these to do a grouping, and I know one of them is Nandina, but I would be very grateful if someone could ID the others so I can google them and figure out spacing and all. Also, do you think my Nandian is a dwarf? I think I got good prices on these, probably $3.50 to $5 a pot, I think. Thank you.

http://picasaweb.google.com/jgbarzyk/PlantsFromMay30?feat=directlink

Comments (10)

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

I haven't looked yet but just wishing you a Happy Birthday tomorrow!

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

It's hard to see but the burgundy ones in front may be loropetalum unless they have spines..then they are barberry.
    What's in the rear..the varigated ones look like varigated euonymous which grow huge and wide so need a lot of space or annual shearing. The others I just can't see the leaves well enough to identify.

• plagio
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you -- and thanks for the b-day wishes.

I will try to get some closer up shots. I should have realized that they would be hard to see that way.

I will google what you mentioned and see if that's what they are!

• Iris GW
    14 years ago

That looks like variegated Ligustrum sinense behind the barberry.

• plagio
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you. Thanks to you I have found what I have (despite my terrible picture) is:

Nandina (don't know if it is full size or dwarf)
    Loropetalum
    Ligustrum sinensis 'Variegata'

And one unknown.

I appreciate it.

Julia

• aezarien
    14 years ago