Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mhall1_gw

Raised Bed Garden Issues

mhall1
12 years ago

I started a first-time attempt at making a raised bed garden this year. On a dime-sized budget, we filled it with several bags of cheap cow manure and a few bags of topsoil, plus some straw in the middle...trying to mimic the "layering" theme.

Needless to say, I am a COMPLETE AMATEUR.

Everything seemed to start out well, I put out healthy plants- such as tomatoes, peppers, yellow summer squash, and eggplant. I then planted seed for cukes, and zucchini, since I couldn't find any plants locally. They all came up very nicely!

All was apparently going well, but now things are looking a bit less green, and a little more yellow?? I try to do my watering in the mornings, or occasionally late evening. I have forgotten once or twice and left the sprinkler going too long...but it is draining well, so I hopefully didn't damage anything.

I was late getting it started, and it has been about 5 weeks.

My garden gets the sunlight beginning from dawn until about 1 or 2 when the pine trees start to shade it some.

Everything is growing SO SLOWLY.

Any suggestions? The only fertilizer I've used has been miracle grow once last week and again this morning. HELP!

Comments (7)

• aisgecko
    12 years ago

I'm sure others know more but sounds like overfertilizing to me. or are they crowded?

• chas045
    12 years ago

I'm wondering about crowding as well. 'several' bags of manure isn't very much, depending on the number and spacing of plants. Might be useful to know your garden size and location. I suppose you are in South Carolina.

I was actually thinking lack of fertilizer early on. I haven't used commercial cow manure, so other than nitrogen, I don't know what's in it. I generally add some all around fertilizer when I put plants in or after seedlings are up. The only problem I DID have with farm cow manure, was that my squash grew huge and overwhelmed everything around them.