Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dyhgarden

Growing Lavender in NC

DYH
15 years ago

My husband and I had an invitation to Sunshine Lavender Farm this past weekend. I've been growing (ornamental) Spanish Lavender for several years and find it grows very well if planted high and dry with good drainage. Anyway, I asked the owner if it was okay to write about our visit on my blog. She said yes as long as folks know that they can't just show up at the farm. I posted photos and some information about their lavender farm. The owner is also a Master Gardener.

Enjoy,

Cameron

Here is a link that might be useful: lavender farm visit

Comments (10)

• alex_7b
    15 years ago

Do they also have Rosemary?

• DYH
    Original Author
    15 years ago

only in their private kitchen garden. They don't grow rosemary for products, just lavender.

• ncgardner
    15 years ago

I too was invited to Sunshine Lavender Farm. What a great day. I'm very interested in starting lavender and purchased several plants. I love the Spanish lavender like you have and the fact that it blooms earlier in the season is a plus. I was also delighted to see the fairly new Hidcote Giant selection available to buy. I guess Hidcote is my favorite after Spanish so what could be better than a "Giant" Hidcote?? Thanks for sharing.

Kaaren

What a nice visit.

• amyflora
    15 years ago

I have been wanting to visit there. Saw the feature in Carolina Gardener magazine, and Adele and I were saying we should go sometime. It looks like a success, and like a beautiful small farm. Thanks for the information!

• DYH
    Original Author
    15 years ago

If you love lavender, subscribe to Annie's newsletter.

Karen -- wish I'd known you were there, too. We got there around 10:15 and must have left before 1:00. We took the tour with Annie, so that must have been around 11:00 or so. We had lunch there. Doesn't she have a wonderful farm? I love her house and gardens.

• ncgardner
    15 years ago