Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimnc7

Lantana camara Questions

kimnc7
15 years ago

I am still very new at gardening and miraculously all the stuff I planted (mostly using "incorrect" methods) last summer during the drought survived into this year. I am still adding to the garden and just purchased one Lantana camara (Surftada) plant to fill up a little space in the perennial bed until I figure out what perennials (maybe Dahlias depending on how the one I planted this year fares) to place. There seems to be quite a bit of variation in size and hardiness concerning Lantanas. The plant I purchased is not Miss Huff so am I correct to assume that it will be an annual? How big can I expect it to get? Some plants seem seem to get quite large and I don't have a very large space to fill. I live in a "cooler" part of the state (Winston) if that makes a difference. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (9)

• trianglejohn
    15 years ago

Most of the hardier versions of Lantana are forms of Lantana camara. Not sure what the (Suftada) means. It seems to me that most of the newer color forms are proving to be hardier than the older versions (maybe everyone is breeding to L. camara?). I have one of the low growing lavender ones that continues to come back every year and it's not supposed to be hardy. This year all my lantanas came back - no matter what style or color.

Where you plant it (shade vs. full sun),( microclimate/sheltered vs. exposed) will mean more towards getting it to survive the winter - and all of that can be influenced by a million different things. It seems to me that overwintered lantanas take a while to get big (except Miss Huff). If you want big bushy ones you might want to buy a few new ones each year. If you want smaller ones you can always prune them - they handle it just fine.

• tamelask
    15 years ago