Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harmonyfarms_gw

What do you wish you knew...

harmonyfarms
17 years ago

Since I am a beginner gardener I thought I'd get some feedback.

#1. What plant do you wish you knew about in the beginning (because it was easy to grow, etc.)

#2. What tip do you wish you knew.

Let me learn!

Comments (20)

• aisgecko
    17 years ago

Water your plants in when you first plant and a few times if there is no rain. In a drought don't water every day, water less often but deeply. It draws the roots down where the water is better held. Water early morning NEVER in midday. Evening is ok, but morning is best.
    Mulch!
    Start a compost pile. Good for the earth, good for the soul, good for the garden!
    Plants vary greatly from one gardener to the next, it seems. Echinaceas are a staple here because they bloom so long. I also love daylilies, which really pack a punch but don't last as long. Roses bloom forever if you get the right ones and don't have to be high maintenence.
    Have fun. -Ais.

• lindakimy
    17 years ago

1. I wish I'd known how many and varied salvias there are. By now I would have had a lot more of them.

2. There is nothing more important than amending your soil and preparing your beds - before you even think about plants. All the time and money and effort you have to put into improving the soil (texture, nutrients, drainage, etc) will save you later on.

And I'd reverse the order of 1 and 2...FIRST see to your soil, then enjoy the plants.

• brenda_near_eno
    17 years ago