Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
permanent potato garden

Posted by thomis 7 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 21, 13 at 16:11

I've seen the potato growing technique on youtube...you start with used ties and keep stacking them as the potatoes grow. this doesn't really appeal to me. I'd like to build some kind of raised rock garden like our herb garden my wife made, but for potatoes. can I combine the tire idea with a raised bed technique? I've never grown potatoes so I'm a total spud newbie.
I'd love to hear your potato garden tricks and tips. I know its too late to plant this year but I can get started on building now.
My local farmer's market has had Carolla potatoes the last few years and they are amazing. They had a 'crop failure' this year, whatever that means. These are the ones I want to grow!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: permanent potato garden

Could be the excessive rains. Our local farmers mkt has had to cancel the tomato tasting contest because the rains have put a damper on a lot of veg. production as well as diluted the flavor of those tomato fruits that set.

Used railroad ties I wouldn't recommend. They are highly treated with stuff you don't want leaching into your soil.
Wouldn't use tires either for a lot of the same reasons.
Besides, tires are dark and in the sun absorb a lot of heat
not to mention the opening is just not wide enough.

It's end of season and big sales on planters of all sizes. Take advantage of garden retailers sales and get yourself some huge planters with proper drainage holes and unpainted. The painted ones I wouldn't trust not to have toxic paints and coatings. Go for the biggest clay planters unpainted so the whole pot breathes and evaporates excess water. Get a couple of those planter rolling stands
so it will make tipping the pot at harvest a lot easier.
Be sure to steel or aluminum mesh the drainage hole to keep out the varmints.

o