Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rootdiggernc

Toadlilies

rootdiggernc
15 years ago

I've been growing toadlilies for several years. Love the fall blooms but the foliage on mine always look bad by the time they start blooming. Is that a given with toadlilies, just certain types or what?

Comments (8)

• gnomey
    15 years ago

I'm not sure really. Erin gave me two and they are still in pots for the moment, until I get the soil amended. They looked great when she gave them to me, but since I brought them home it looks like slugs got to the leaves or something. They definitely aren't as pretty as when Erin had them. They are blooming now though, and are so cute that I can forgive the ratty foliage.

• computergardener
    15 years ago

I have three in a nice shady area of my natural area and the foliage the deer have not eaten looks great. :-(

Next year, I have to spray the deer repelant more often.

• Claire Pickett
    15 years ago

Mine have a little browning of the leaf, but not bad. They are in part shade.

• nonews
    15 years ago

My leaves look good, but no blossoms yet. I think my shade is too dark. I may have to limb up some of the trees.
    Isn't this rain beautiful. Ours is coming steady about medium (not light and not heavy). All the plants are happy. Nancy

• trianglejohn
    15 years ago

A lot of them do that. Which is why they failed all the trials to develop them as cut flowers.

• razorback33
    15 years ago

Toadlily's are slug magnets! Even moreso than Hostas, at least in my garden. I break out the Sluggo at first sign of munching, which usually does the trick. Some gardners use beer in small containers, others drink the beer and go around at night with a flashlight and pick them off the plants.