Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hibiscus909

canna hardiness

hibiscus909
15 years ago

I am new to growing cannas.

I see a lot of the yellow and red flowered ones around town (charlotte area) and I assume folks leave them in the ground for winter. But I assume some varieties are too tender for this??

I've got a "Wyoming" canna that I planted this year. Can this one stay in the ground over winter?

seahorse

Comments (4)

• ncgardengirl
    15 years ago

Family: Cannaceae (kan-AY-see-ay) (Info)
    Genus: Canna (KAN-uh) (Info)
    Species: x generalis (jen-er-RAY-liss) (Info)
    Cultivar: Wyoming

Category:
    Tropicals and Tender Perennials

Height:
    8-10 ft. (2.4-3 m)
    10-12 ft. (3-3.6 m)

Spacing:
    9-12 in. (22-30 cm)

Hardiness:
    USDA Zone 8a: to -12.2 °C (10 °F)
    USDA Zone 8b: to -9.4 °C (15 °F)
    USDA Zone 9a: to -6.6 °C (20 °F)
    USDA Zone 9b: to -3.8 °C (25 °F)
    USDA Zone 10a: to -1.1 °C (30 °F)
    USDA Zone 10b: to 1.7 °C (35 °F)
    USDA Zone 11: above 4.5 °C (40 °F)

I would say with good mulch cover it would be alright in Charlotte area, we can do some zone 8 stuff in these parts...but just in case cover it well.

Those u see around do stay in the ground year 'round and are fine...but if this is a prized one take care of it so it will multiply...

:) Fran

• Dibbit
    15 years ago

I got my first cannas from a grower in Rutherfordton, NC, which can get pretty cold in winter. He said to cover them with 5" of mulch the first winter, then add another few inches to the cover in the second and third years. After that, they should be fine. I have had few to no losses if I follow his advice. If you have wet winters, with freezes after rain, I think I would clip the dead stalks back early on - to limit a pathway for rot and freeze - I mostly cut mine back in the early spring, as I am too lazy to do it in the fall.