Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiarella_gw

RE recent transplant from NJ

tiarella
14 years ago

Hi! I'm new to this forum. I have been gardening for over 25 years in NJ the garden state LOL I will be moving into my new home in the upstate in about 1 month and I'm not sure what would be must have plants. I want to try a magnolia, crape mrytle and camellias but is their anything else that would really say I'm in the South?

Comments (5)

• transplanted2scin07
    14 years ago

Welcome to the South and to the Carolina Forum!

Magnolia and Camellia are great choices. Personally, I think there are way too many Crepe Myrtles, even though their bloom period is at a time when color is needed.

You'll also want Gardenia - the smell is amazing.

As soon as you get a chance, find your way over to the SC Botanical Garden on the campus of Clemson U. It's free and gorgeous and you can see all kinds of wonderful plants to add to your new yard.

• dottie_in_charlotte
    14 years ago

Well, we're not really south enough to plant tropicals and send photos up North to gloat to our friends.
    Probably, your biggest delight will be to send photos of your Christmas/New Years/Valentines Day pansies blooming while your Jersey friends gardens are covered in snow.
    My yard doesn't seem to have any plant or tree that I couldn't have grown in Ct.
    Just different bloom periods here, longer for the most part.
    The fun here is vegetable gardening in the fall when Northern gardeners are putting everything to bed under a layer of mulch.
    We have it easier growing zone 9-11 blooming perennials as annuals so we have a much bigger plant selection to choose from.
    Welcome, and join us often to let us know how you're adjusting to Southern gardening.

• mocharoman
    14 years ago