Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mhallam_gw

How to prep yard for trees

mhallam
14 years ago

First, let me start by saying that I am BRAND NEW to gardening/landscaping of any sort.

With that said, we bought a new construction home in 2007 in a suburb of Charlotte, NC right before the start of the drought restrictions. Mix that with the red clay and horrible site prep that the builder did = a lawn that is half dead and 4 shade maple trees that are all but completely dead. There is no end to the debris and gravel in the dirt.

I've been toying around with trees and the lawn trying what I can to fix what I can however NOTHING that I do seems to work. I spoke to a guy at a tree farm today that gave me many good tips, but all in all I don't have the kind of money that is required to remediate all the tree beds with compost, etc etc etc.

But I look around my neighborhood...many of my neighbors lawns are just fine and their trees are healthy and I know they didn't put down 24" of compost and till the tree beds.

So what's the deal? What am I doing wrong? Is investing in a tiller and thousands of dollars of compost? There are trees EVERYWHERE around here...I can't honestly believe that each of those trees was planted in a properly prepared tree planting bed...

At this point I'm so fed up, I'll take any advice or info or even just a "hang in there". I've got the time and the energy to do the work, but I just don't have the money to buy 3 truck loads of compost at $23 a yard, etc etc etc.

The red clay in my yard is so hard that I actually think its harder than the concrete in my drive way.

Comments (6)

• tamelask
    14 years ago