Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Greetings and Salutations!

Posted by MrsHolland 7 (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 17, 13 at 9:05

Hello, everyone.

I am not new to NC, I have been here since late 2007, however, I am a complete newbie to gardening. I have messed a little with some houseplants - did you know if you don't water them they DIE? Who'dathunkit!

My family just purchased a piece of property outside of Sanford, NC with 4 acres, and we are in process of planning our first garden. No, I am not crazy - I have to do something to keep my 19, 17 and 10 year old boys busy!

Any advice anyone could offer before I just jump in headlong would be appreciated.

We have a very generous neighbor with a tiller that is going to break up the ground for us, and after that, well, the game is afoot!

Have a wonderful day and I look forward to meeting everyone!

Mary

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Greetings and Salutations!

Is the soil there sand or red clay?

o

Vegetable or flower garden?

o

• Posted by lsst 7b (My Page) on
    Mon, Oct 21, 13 at 15:50

Get a soil analysis done from your local extension office.
The cost is less than a bag of fertilizer you may not need.

o

Oh boy what I could accomplish with three hole-diggers !!
Teenagers no less...bribe them with food and put the 10 yr.
old in charge, LOL.

o

I would guess her soil is sandy. Unfortunately I only know about clay since I am in the Piedmont. I suspect a ton of mulch works with either though. Yes, you can get soil tests and they don't cost much, and at many times are free, but not right now. Call or visit the Lee county agricultural extension agents. They will be Very helpful.

Here is a link that might be useful: Ag extension.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum

Information about Posting