Return to the Carolina Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Peachland, NC

Posted by angryladyfermiere none (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 28, 13 at 13:19

Just moved here from the north east. A magnolia tree and a pecan tree grace my yard, too bad I have to read up on 'em. Any tips would be appreciated.
It's so much warmer here I'm delighted to be in North Carolina and even happier to have a longer growing season. I'm new to all this bright orange clay but it's not as hard as it looks?!?!?
Ran some soil tests last week. Looks like my PH is good, nitrogen is medium good, phosphorus is good and potash is high.
I've been farming/gardening for the last 2 years. A semi-newbie. I've read a lot of the books and taken some classes all to learn that... different things work for different people when you are growing stuff.
I will check out all the posts here in the forum. Anyone with any ideas of what will grow best down here please let me know. I want to grow some collard greens for a new friend, never even tried that before, but I've had luck with other greens.
Thanks and hello to all!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Peachland, NC

Welcome!
This is generally an active forum although in winter it is like all others as we get busy with the holidays and indoor stuff.

Might want to check the pH of your water source too. My well is higher pH than rain water so I add well water to the rain barrels.
Check the local library and the used book stores where you'll probably find some great books specific to gardening
in this zone.
Pop in and give us updates of what works and what doesn't for you. Glad to have another enthusiast here!

Don't forget to put your non-gardening questions or stories
in the 'Conversations' section of the Carolina forum. If we
don't use it we'll lose it I'm afraid.

o

There's a really good used book store west of you on 74 in Stallings (Union Cty) opposite side of the road.