Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pfmastin_gw

Anyone grow Laurus nobilis..bay laurel?

pfmastin
18 years ago

I'm hoping for all and any suggestions for trying to grow this plant outside. Is anyone successful with it? Thanks in advance.

Pam

Comments (15)

• dellare
    18 years ago

I have been growing bay laurel for about five years now. I started out with two of them about a foot tall. Lost one after a couple of years. The one that I still have is now about four feet high. I standardized it about three years ago after seeing a show on hgtv with the loveliest 85 year old woman who had a large one standardized in a pot in a gorgeous rustic garden in Vermont. They winter over nicely inside. I am not really sure why I lost one of them but I was not very careful with them. I never really fertilize or do anything special either than bringing them inside in the fall and putting them back outside in the spring. I am hoping the one I have follows me into old age like the lovely lady I saw in Vermont. The fresh leaves are wonderful in soups, etc.

Actually this post is so coincidental since I was just goggling whether to bring it in tonight or not. It should be fine outside tonight but I am definately going to bring it inside tomorrow night till spring. The information I read said they are hardy in zone 8. Here in Carthage I am borderline zone 8. I am not going to take a chance with it though since my bay is really getting that "small tree" look. Adele

• pfmastin
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I'm glad to hear that you bay tree is doing well. Any particular potting mix? Will a western window give it enough light do you think?

What a lovely idea of standardizing it. Mine is also about a foot tall...just got it this fall. I'm hoping to be as successful as you. :)

Pam

• dellare
    18 years ago

In Pittsburgh I had them both in a western window for the winter. Here in Carthage the one left was wintered over in a south facing situation.