Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duscarter

Year Round Patio Plant

duscarter
15 years ago

Any suggestions on a plant that will survive year round in our large outdoor pots? They get too heavy to move in and out in the Carolina winter.

Comments (9)

• zigzag
    15 years ago

I'm no expert, but my first thought is to plant these large pots with an ornamental shrub - preferably evergreen - and then underplant it seasonally. The possibilities are endless!

• rootdiggernc
    15 years ago

I use the half barrel liners. You can put a trellis in the pots for vines,,, native honeysuckles, clematis, or even some edible vines and underplant with other things. I have herbs for underplanting in one. Some of them can take the drought pretty good so not as much watering, which can be a plus especially when we have water restrictions.

• trianglejohn
    15 years ago

That list is endless - what conditions are we talking about? Full sun, deep shade, in between and what sort of look are you aiming for? cottage, tropical, screening, low maintenance, blooming...?

• jay_7bsc
    15 years ago

What better plant for a large patio pot than the yucca? Aesthetically, the yucca makes a bold, architectural statement. And from a utilitarian point-of-view, when positioned defensively near windows, doors, and other points of entry, the yucca acts as a superb deterrent to burglars, home invaders, Fuller Brush salespeople, Jehovah's Witnesses, and other unwanted guests.

• duscarter
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the follow ups. The Yucca would work, but it would prick me bringing in the groceries.

We just need some low maintence greenery. Blooms would be nice. They will get full sun.

Any more suggestions?

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    15 years ago

Gardenia, camellia, boxwood, hollies, conifers, dwarf hinoki cypress...anything you can plant in the ground you can keep in a pot if it's big enough and you root prune it if necessary.

• jay_7bsc
    15 years ago