Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winstella

Meyer Lemon help please!

winstella
10 years ago

{{gwi:556135}}

I am new to gardening and just bought a dwarf Meyer lemon tree last week. The nursery wasn't able to tell me much about it... It is about 4 feet tall, very skinny and leaning heavily to one side. (I put a stake in it to try to get the right two branches to grow straight, otherwise, they would both be leaning to the left.)

I was told to water once a week but when I checked, the first two inches were dry after a couple days so I have watered twice in one week. Lady at the nursery also sold me a citrus fertilizer stick and told me not to use it until spring but now I don't trust her advice....

Should I be fertilizing, and in what amount and any particular brand recommendations?

Also, I plan on keeping it in the pot, but eventually moving it to a different pot. How big of a pot and what brand of soil should I buy?

I have never gardened before.

Some of the leaves were already a little bit yellow at the nursery but have now turned completely yellow and falling off (the ones near the ground). The branches closest to the ground had small buds at time of purchase, now the top branches seem to have some buds growing as well (it's a possibility that I just didn't notice them before... But I think they are new)

I live in Southern California, tree is in my backyard getting plenty of sun.

More photos-

Here are some of the buds, these are on the lowest branch and are the largest:
{{gwi:556139}}

{{gwi:556141}}

{{gwi:556143}}

As you can see, some of the leaves are turning completely yellow and falling off. I left the fallen leaves in the pot..
{{gwi:556145}}

The tree was already a little yellowish when I got it like these leaves from the top of the tree, but now they are turning completely yellow.
{{gwi:556147}}

Any advice would be appreciated! I know some of you are real experts on Meyers! I would love to know how long it will take to get some lemons...