Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raisefire

Choosing a Kumquat.

raisefire
12 years ago

I'm looking at purchasing a kumquat to add to my collection of citrus. I've never tried a kumquat before but have read they can be very delicious. I've looked around at local nursurys and none have or can get any. I searched the web and have found a few but would like some advise before purchasing. I live in tx so I'm kinna limited on what I can get.

Nagami

Meiwa Sweet

Changshou

What do y'all think of these and which one y'all would prefer?

If you know any other kumquats that I can have shipped in tx and and would recommend that would be great.

Comments (30)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    12 years ago

Im pretty sure you'll have a hard time shipping one into texas

Mike

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    12 years ago

Raisefire, I prefer Meiwa, much sweeter than the other two varieties you've mentioned. And you'll have to find a citrus grower in your state, as Texas is a quarantined state. However, there are some good online sources in the state of Texas, so you should be able to find a nice Kumquat from an online Texas source I would think.

Patty S.

• Kevin Reilly
    12 years ago

The first time I tried Nagami, I wanted to spit it out. The first time I tried Meiwa, I knew I had to go get it and plant it in my yard. Never had Changshou

• Karly30
    12 years ago

For fresh eating, a Meiwa. I've only had one ripe fruit from my Fukushu which I believe is the same as Changshou. It actually tasted like a giant Meiwa.

• tantanman
    12 years ago

I like the plain Meiwa. The supposed Chanshou's floating around are mostly hybrids with some mandarine and have a fair tasting shin but they are not so good inside. They are small plum sized.

• raisefire
    Original Author
    12 years ago