Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dpolson37

Meyer Lemon has sticky leaves - is this good?

dpolson37
13 years ago

Happy Winter everyone. I am new to growing my meyer lemon tree and not sure if this is normal behavior or some bug that has invaded. I bought my tree last spring at Lowes and kept it outside all summer. It produced about 10 lemons which finally ripened in the fall. I moved the potted tree in my garage till the temps got in the 30's and then brought it inside. It now is almost finished flowering and it appears to have tiny lemons growing. What I've noticed though is a sticky substance thicker than honey covering the leaves and even on the floor below. The leaves appear healthy and other than some mites the tree seems to be happy. Should I be concerned about the sticky leaves? Is this normal while the tree is blooming? Any suggestions? Here are two photos of the tree.

{{gwi:558816}}From Garden 2010

{{gwi:558817}}From Garden 2010

Comments (8)

• subtropix
    13 years ago

You have SCALE.--This is exactly why I leave my citrus in the garage for the whole winter (down into the 30's at the lowest). Know what? No scale--guess it's too cold for the critters.

• birdsnblooms
    13 years ago

Dpol..you said, "other than some mites, the tree appears to be happy."

Your ML looks great, but if you don't rid those mites, they'll kill your tree.

I agree with NJ regarding scale. Scale are brown bumps that can be scraped off. They hide on upper and lower leaves and stems, in-between stems.

The sticky residue is honeydew, secreted by scale, mealy or aphids. Honeydew attracts ants.
    Inspect your tree thoroughly to ID which insect might be on your ML.

I make a home-made insectide to rid and kill mites. In a 16oz or so sprayer bottle, water, 2-4 drops dish soap, lemon ride or juice, garlic and hot pepper. Liquids can be replaced for garlic, citrus rind and hot pepper.