Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robbversion1

Citrus Tree Identification

robbversion1
9 years ago

Hi this is my first time on this site and was wondering if someone might be able to help me identify a citrus tree that came with a new house we bought. From the pictures you can see the leaf layout and picture of one of the fruit (only one on the tree). I would cut into the fruit but i'm not sure if the fruit will ripen soon or not.

The leaves are yellow right now (guessing because of winter) but they were green back in November/December. Also from the pics you can see that the leaves are waxy and have what looks like a mini leaf at the base of the leaf.

{{gwi:2125309}}
{{gwi:2125310}}
{{gwi:2125311}}
{{gwi:2125312}}
{{gwi:2125313}}
{{gwi:2125314}}
{{gwi:2125315}}

Comments (12)

• johnmerr
    9 years ago

Probably some type of orange. Could be a grapefruit.
    Fertilizer and not too much water will help to regreen the leaves. An orange, in good health should be blooming now, unless it is a Valencia; and I am not conversant with that variety bloom time.

• robbversion1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Awesome! Thanks for the prompt reply.

Any idea what type of fertilizer to use and how much?

Also any idea how old this tree is? Its about 5.5-6 ft tall.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

Looks more like a grapefruit or pummelo hybrid (such as Oroblanco or Melogold). Oranges do not have such pronounced winged petioles. Do us a favor, take a photo of the bottom of the fruit. If it has a fairly pronounced dimple or indentation, it is an Oroblanco grapefruit hybrid - a very nice citrus cultivar (cross between a sweet Siamese pummelo and the March grapefruit.) Tree has probably been in the ground for 2 to 3 years, possibly more if it wasn't well fertilized, but it looks pretty healthy, despite the chlorosis. I would try to ask the previous homeowners what the cultivar is, and when it was planted. That way you can stop guessing.