Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hotchoccy

Lemon trouble

Hotchoccy
11 years ago

hi all!
I'm a beginner gardener living in the UAE (very discouraging climate)
we have a trio of 10+ year old lemon trees who have never fruited in our yard (they don't get much care) I want to change that. Attached is a picture of one of the trees, they're thorny and scraggly. I fed them today with an all purpose plant food 14-10-27.
it's really hard to find advice specific to my climate. so any help/ recommendations are welcome ovo/

Comments (21)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago

Wow, that looks like you're planting in nearly 100% sand? You may have to plant your citrus in raised beds, and add good organic planting material. Do you know what the salt content is in your soil? Your tree looks like it is very dry, and very undernourished. You're going to need to fertilize and water more frequently due to having excessively well draining soil. And, I would recommend mulching these older trees with compost to help improve the soil. 10 years without fruit is really excessively long. Improving organic matter in the soil and more fertilizer and water may help to revive your citrus trees.

Patty S.

• Hotchoccy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

it's desert sand. @_@ i'm not sure about the salt content and how to find that out. (i'd imagine it's relativly high since Dubai is a coastal desert?)
    thank you for the advice ^^ I'll try it out!

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago

You might be able to find out from your local agricultural agency. They may also be able to tell you where you can send a soil sample to, to have it analyzed. And, if you have an ag office, you can ask how they grow citrus in your area. There may be commercial citrus growers that have found a way to grow citrus successfully in your soils.

Patty S.

• nil13
    11 years ago