Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

I can't believe this! I'm seeing BUDS on my Kaffir Lime tree!

meyermike_1micha
10 years ago

Yes, I discovered flowers on my 6 inch potted Kaffir Lime tree...I tree I never thought flowered or that I would ever see bloom..I am so excited guys!

I think it was Patty that said they do flower in an old post and by golly, she was so right..This is my first time ever since I have been collecting citrus that I have ever experienced this...Yahoo..lol

MIke

Comments (52)

• mrsg47
    10 years ago

Mike that is great and exciting news!!! Its a lime that is grown for its leaves right? For cooking? If it flowers it must produce fruit? Congrats! Mrs. G

• johnmerr
    10 years ago

Mike,

Congrats. I have one kaffir in Guatemala... maybe the only one in the country; it has one fruit and I expect it to get yellow in about March or April, at which time I will harvest it and get the seeds. Most, and certainly the best kaffirs are grown from seed; and I want to try using them to repel the ACP when it gets to my area; it is a long term project. My one tree is grafted to Macrophylla, which seems to be mostly incompatible; I grafted 15 buds and only one survived. Anyway, since it is on Macrophylla, I am hoping it will get big and produce lots of fruit.

• puglvr1
    10 years ago

Yay Mike!! I'm very excited for you! Congrats :o)

You can make a dead plant bloom,lol...You have that special gift!

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    10 years ago

Fabulous, Mike! You'll have to snap a few photos so we can share the joy :-) Have you used the leaves at all to cook with? I love Thai food, and have considered adding a Kaffir lime as a container tree for the leaves.

Patty S.

• marrme
    10 years ago

Hi Patty,