Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueboy1977

At Tantanman

blueboy1977
10 years ago

Hey Tantanman, I believe we live pretty close to each other. Im in South Houston and I noticed you mention using Micro Life on your citrus. Is that all you use on your citrus? Ive been using MiroLife exclusivily for 4 years on my blueberries and they are very healty. Ive got several citrus in pots that will eventually be planted in the ground when our new house is finished late this year. Ive been using Micro Life in my pots as well for a year and havent seen any problems to date but just wondering what your fertilizing procedure is for pots and inground trees in our area?

Comments (3)

• tantanman
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

blueboy:

I have a house in Angleton and spend lot of time in Houston. Accuweather has forecast 80 Deg F today and 32 for the AM. That makes it almost impossible to fertilize and give the trees the growth they want w/o risking a killing freeze for trees in the ground. In 1980 and 2002 we had killing freezes in the first week in March.

For citrus in pots I use Microlife at 1/2 rate, and apply more often. That is because it forms a crust over the surface and cuts down on oxygen at full rates. I also water with a little Epsom salt and vinegar which I premix in a barrel. About once or twice a month I add about 250 parts per million of potassium nitrate depending on how things are growing and color. Acidifying the water is necessary due to our municipal water being pH 8+.

I have a layer of caliche in my subsoil. When we have a long period w/o rain the sun draws that alkaline stuff to the surface. Then I apply Epsom salt to my trees in the ground. They become highly magnesium deficient if not treated. I will go back to using potassium/magnesium double sulfate this year because Epsom salt alone is hard to use and not harm the fruit quality. I have bought the double salt at Southwest Fertilizer. It's problem is it gets hard as a rock in the bag.