Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Al's Gritty Mix?

Posted by heislerab none (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 11, 12 at 11:33

Newbie Here! Okay I am bummed! I just transplanted my lemon tree. Desperately needed it, it was not looking so healthy. Sadly not in Al's gritty mix. What is it? Where do you buy it or is it a home concoction? And just read somewhere about someone using a vinegar regiman? What is that for (adding acidity obviously) but how do you do it.
I did take my tree right to the root ball and rinsed them wasnt too overgrown so didnt do any trimming. It has lemons on it but just looks so sad an droopy...
If someone has Al's Gritty Mix recipe I would love to have it as I am quite sure I will not be able to purchase it in Canada! I do still have an orange tree I just bought that will need transplanting this spring.
This is the best hobby in the world!

Sharon

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Al's Gritty Mix?

Newbie here also, but this link from the Container Forum should help. I've been searching my local area for the ingredients also. Good luck!

Alexa

Here is a link that might be useful: Link to Al's Gritty Mix on the Container Forum

o

Seriously! Floor Dry! How ironic, my husband is a mechanic! As for the Granite, Al if you are out there or if any one else knows, Will crushed shale work? I just so happen to live within 4 miles of a shale crushing company whom I happen to know very well. One downside to shale, if it is a downside in this case, is it brakes down quickly. As for the bark, jerbils, so already have that!
Now is it safe to retransplant my lemon tree in this when i do my orange tree in a month or so when it warms up enough here?
Still would like input on vineagar treatment too. My P.H. is low

o

Floor Dry, Napa autoparts #8822.

Bark must be *conifer bark* - not wood-shavings, wood-chips, or sap-wood.
Pine and Fir bark are the best. Cedar should be avoided.