Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
merrybookwyrm

changsha babies, polyembryonic?, how to tell, treat?

merrybookwyrm
12 years ago

Very much a newbie here; if I've missed threads that would clarify this question please direct me there.

People here give good advice about sprouting citrus seeds!

I planted one seed in each pot. Amazingly, excitingly, several changsha tangerine seeds have sprouted. Some of the little trees have two leaves, some have more at this point in time. There is one pot which has two seedlings in it. All the rest of the pots have only one seedling in them.

If I understand correctly, this two seedling pot contains polyembryonic changsha. Does this pot contain -two- separate trees or -one- tree with two trunks? If two trees, should these trees be separated? If so, when? If so, how? (eep, eep, scary thought!)

If one plant came from one seed in all the rest of the pots, does that mean that those trees are not polyembryonic?

Was reading Tom McClendon's site that has been referenced here in the past and confusing myself. His website has clear information, but the information hasn't entered my head clearly.

Comments (3)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    12 years ago