Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
randy31513

Pruning Meyer's lemon?

Randy31513
12 years ago

I have always been under the impression that one should not prune a Meyers unless you have too. As I was bouncing around the web and this site, I kept running into pruning guidelines that suggested any limb that touches the ground should be removed to prevent bad things using the limb as a pathway to the tree.

Is this a good idea? If it is then when and how much do you prune back? My in the ground Meyrs is about 10 feet tall and maybe 15 feet wide.

Comments (4)

• puglvr1
    12 years ago

I'm NO expert but I think pruning your Citrus trees or any fruit trees is a matter of preference, I personally am an Avid pruner and prune ALL my fruit trees because I like my trees short and wide as opposed to tall and lanky. Its easier for me to protect them in the winter and also when I have to spray the trees its much easier on me. Plus when its time to pick the fruits I won't need a ladder or a fruit picker. Of course that is my personal prefernce...I know there are many people that don't prune their Citrus trees at all, but I certainly don't see any harm in pruning mine.

I lightly prune my Meyers once a year and most of my other fruit trees...sometimes the freeze prunes it for me and I come along and shape them a little once they re-grow.

• johnmerr
    12 years ago

I prune my Meyers up at least a foot from the ground; it helps with orchard sanitation and makes it easier to tend to the tree, as in watering, fertilizing, etc. Also, if the tree produces fruit that will come down to rest on the ground you will have problems with fungus and other things like snails,ants,rats eating the fruit.