Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silverthumb1

Paranoid or a problem? Cocktail citrus newbie

silverthumb1
10 years ago

Hello! I am a garden novice and hoping that I may be able to get some advice after scouring the web and getting myself pretty overhwhelmed and confused!
Two days ago I brought home my first citrus tree (I live in Miami Beach). Even though people seem to warn against it, I couldn't help but purchase a citrus cocktail tree from Home Depot (really though, I just had to have it). I plan to plant it this weekend. It came in a 15 gallon container and was the healthiest looking of their cocktail trees. The 6 grafts are Meyer lemon (which is the largest and has many flowers, several small fruits, and three larger green fruits), Persian like which has some flowers, naval orange, ruby red grapefruit, tangerine, and Honeybell tangelo.

I tree is about 5 feet high and I brought it home by putting it in the backseat of my convertible and driving with the top down for the 15 mile trip mostly under 20mph. There were definitely some flapping leaves but the tree made it home with almost all of the buds and all of the fruits still in tact.

I mention this because the next day I noticed some tears in a few leaves, holes in others, and some browning on the underside of some naval orange leaves (just the underside).

I watered the tree when I got home that night and then it rained the next day (I noticed these blemishes yesterday evening after it rained).

The tree was in full sun outside yesterday.

I have attached a picture that shows some of the leaves I mention.

Is there cause for concern? I realize the transportation method wasn't ideal but not sure of a bug or other factor could have caused the years after I get her home.

Also- should I plant her this weekend or give her a few days to recover from the trip home?

Any advice on this or other general cocktail citrus help would be greatly appreciated! I really want her to do well!

Comments (7)

• johnmerr