Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dying Grapefruit Tree

Posted by david_potts ca (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 13, 09 at 15:39

My poor grapefruit tree is dying. I've had it for 10 years and it has always been strong. Last year I lost a Lemon tree; this year the Grapefruit is doing the same thing. I don't know how to help this poor tree. Please help me.

http://i261.photobucket.com/albums/ii59/Dajiu/IMG_0406.jpg

The image in the link is what the plant looks like right now.

I'm in Southern California if that matters.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dying Grapefruit Tree

I'm no expert at citrus but I see you have not had a response.
I looked at your picture and one of the things that stands out to me is the curling leaves.
Here are some links that may help you.
Good luck.
Danny

http://cals.arizona.edu/pubs/crops/az1151.pdf

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/citrus/msg0602094211826.html

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Sat, Mar 14, 09 at 19:35

It has a root problem.

Look at the base of the tree. I see a large wound which shouldn't be a problem as long as it isn't getting bigger.

But the bark near the base is off-color. Is it splitting and/or peeling?

Beyond that, the leaves are curling, also off-color, because of the limited root function.

o

Thanks for the suggestions, I will look into the roots and see what I can find. I am thinking that this might be the problem. When the lemon tree died last year (a few trees to the left) I dug it out and the roots didn't seem right. When the house was built someone ran the drains for the yard right under these trees. Not really a good idea. I'm guessing there may be a lot of stagnant water under the trees.

o

The bark at the base looks (as far as I can tell from the image) a good example of physical injury from a mower or weedeater. Do you think that might be the case for your tree?

o