Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My First Citrus Spring Flush...CLM free

Posted by puglvr1 9b central FL (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 19, 14 at 15:43

I've been nursing my poor little dwarf satsuma tangerine for almost 3 months now...I've neglected it for a couple of years. The tree barely had any leaves and the ones that was on there were all ravaged by CLM's and had many issues with yellowing leaves...but this winter I made a commitment to really get this tree back on track...thanks to some great advise on this forum (you guys know who you are :o). I've been fertilizing often in "weaker" amounts and giving it lots of water . Its really paying off...lots of new growths and flowers too...but the best part is its fiist spring flush are CLM free, which I've read on a couple of articles are typical around here. Now I can start getting ready for the next growth flush since I won't be that lucky... those will not be CLM free, I have Spinosad and horticultural oil/Neem oil...and Bayer Advanced for Citrus if needed...I'll be ready for them,lol...

This is the tree today...nice and green Foliage, healthiest I've seen this tree since I planted it...

Thanks for all the help..

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My First Citrus Spring Flush...CLM free

And also wanted to share a picture of my Dancy tangerine I planted 6 weeks ago...it too is CLM free and lots of new growths and flowers :o)

o

Very nice, pug! Your trees look fantastic. Healthy, and good to remove all that grass under them. Well done.

Patty S.

o

Thanks Patty ! You've given me so much help and great advise.

o

what's the white stuff under the tree?

o

Looks likely sandy Florida soil to me :-)

Patty S.

o

You are SO right Patty...that's exactly what that is...that's our native soil in central FL...sandy soil :o) our Citrus and Mango trees/tropical trees loves it! That's how we can have up 20" of rain in June or July and not worry about rotting roots :o)

o Post a Follow-Up