Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angela1234_gw

New lemon tree. Should I be worried about leaves and bugs?

angela1234
10 years ago

I've been wondering this forum for the last two days trying to get all the information that I can. Let me first say that I'm not very good with plants and I really want this one to survive.

I got an improved meyer lemon tree from my sisters for my birthday and it arrived last Friday. I live in Pittsburgh, PA (where it just snowed last night :() and I have a sylvania spot gro light shining on it that I got from Lowes but I'm not sure if it is working. I live in a condominium building and my windows only face east. I did get some daylight CFLs to replace the light and I'm hoping that my building will let me move the tree up to the roof deck once it is warmer but I'm a little bit worried that someone might tamper with my tree because it's a communal area.

These are the bulbs I bought. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0018OS06S/ref=ox_ya_os_product_refresh_T1

The tree came in a black pot with soil already in it. I watered it once last Saturday and made sure that the water drained out of the bottom of the pot. The soil still seems slightly damp. Should I repot the tree right away? I've been reading about the 5-1-1 and gritty mix. The leaves are getting lighter with dark veins. What could be wrong? I also noticed there are tiny white bugs in the soil which I am pretty sure are springtails. They are too small and quick for me to catch a good picture. I've seen some people say that they are beneficial and only eat decomposing stuff and some say they might start eating the roots. Should I try to get rid of them? Lastly, it had new growth coming off of the top but all of the leaves fell off of the new growth.

Any and all advice is welcome :) I'll post more pictures following because it seems like you all like to see pictures.

Comments (8)

• angela1234
    Original Author
    10 years ago

A look at the leaves

• angela1234