Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
confused_newbie

help evaluate lemon tree

confused_newbie
17 years ago

i just moved into this house for about 3 months, and am enjoying the lemon tree that the previous owner planted. however i think the tree is dying, and i have no knowledge of gardening so i am asking for help... i know i need to prune and probably fertilize it and water it, but if it is dead / diseased then i am not going to bother. the lemons are really juicy though! i hope it isn't beyond repair :( thanks!

about 6 ft tall

{{gwi:572305}}

big juicy lemons

{{gwi:575331}}

getting a few dead one on the tree

{{gwi:575333}}

leaves yellowing

{{gwi:575335}}

leaves drying, but got flowers too

{{gwi:575338}}

something's wrong w/ the leaves

{{gwi:575340}}

Comments (7)

• gardner_dragon
    17 years ago

Your tree does not look like its in dire straits to me. In fact it does look rather healthy.

It COULD use a small amount of pruning to remove the older visibly dead interior and exterior branches. I would also remove a few of the interior branches to help open this area up, and allow for air circulation.

The fruit rotting on the tree looks to me as if it s beyond its ripeness and just doing what its supposed to do. These need to be picked as they ripen or they do what you are seeing. It also appears in the picture of the juicy lemons, that you either have Myers Lemon with severely over ripened lemons, or you have a multi grafted tree with something in the tangerine/tangelo family. Those "lemons" in the back of the picture look way to orange to be true lemons.

The yellowing leaves could be normal. The older leaves usually yellow as they age. Since these are large leaves I would be inclined that they are dying back as nature intended. They have served their purpose. This could also be a sign of root damage if its other than the older leaves being affected.

Lemon trees fruit and flower at the same time. This is perfectly normal.