Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dutchgirl_z7

Clementine Seedling

dutchgirl_z7
16 years ago

Hi All-

I never watch this forum, but have a question for you experts.

My 7-year old daughter wanted to plant her clementine seed and I thought it would be a good learning experience for her. I didn't think it would actually sprout, but it did. Now she has a seedling with nice form, looks to be getting its first set of true leaves. However, it looks albino to me! Does it need more sun? Fertilizer? Or is this just a normal stage for a clementine? I'd hate to lose it now that its up and looking so good. Advice?

Comments (5)

• birdsnblooms
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Dutchgirl..I'm NO expert, but if the leaves are all white, it 'might' be lack of light..albino..I've never sowed Clementine seed so this isn't a definate..
    Is your little seedling getting sun? Toni

• don_in_ct
    16 years ago

Hello Dutchgirl,

Citrus trees do not necessarily produce seeds that grow true to type: they often cross-pollinate, and even if they are self-pollinated (since a tree has flowers of both sexes) the seeds can produce a very different fruit if planted and grown. For this reason, commercial citrus trees are typically produced by grafting pieces of known types to rootstocks (often of different types--as a grapefruit cutting will be grafted onto a sour orange rootstock).

Albinism is a very common mutation in citrus seedlings, and commercial growers of rootstock from seeds have to get rid of albino seedlings as a regular part of the process of starting new plants.

I would say that any normal citrus seed that sprouts in a room with even rather dim indoor lighting will show green from the very beginning. In fact, citrus seeds will often sprout within the fruit, if overripe, and those sprouts will have green stems and leaves when the fruit is cut open. If your seedling is truly white, and has received even a moderate amount of light, I think you have a mutation.