Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hooks_gw

Clementine oranges

hooks
17 years ago

Hello All,

I'm new to growing fruits yet I am not completely lacking a green thumb. I have expierience growing bonsai in a number of varieties and a few other potted plants. I have some seeds from clementine oranges and wish to turn one or two of the strongest growers into bonsai someday. My problem is this, what is the stratification process for citrus? I know how to stratify other species that fit the cold northern climates, yet I have never done any stratification with tropical/sub-tropical seeds. My other seeds needed 60-90 day refridgeration inside sealed plastic bag and wrapped with barely damp paper towel or inside barely damp vermiculite. Also I recently read a post about a 35yr old tree with no fruit/flowers. If I allow the tree to grow large untill fruit appears and cut it down to size will fruit remain or will down sizing stop the fruiting/flowering process.

Thanks for your time,

Tim

Comments (17)

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    17 years ago

Hi Tim,

Tropical and subtropical trees typically grow in warm/hot climates. I don't believe there would be any reason at all to stratify seeds.