Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eajohnson_gw

Mandarin Row

eajohnson
11 years ago

I have a strip of lawn that I would like to replace with mandarin trees and possibly blueberry bushes if there is room it is 10' by 25' with a 3.5 foot wide path on the side.

I was planning on planting them about 6' apart. I was looking to get a Gold Nugget, Satsuma, Kishu, and Tango. So that there would be mandarins for a lot of the year. Do any of these varieties grow faster than the others. I don't want one shading the other since it's North to south oriented. Also do they grow different i.e. more bushy as opposed to tree shape. I bought the satsuma which seemed bushy and the gold nugget which seems more like a formal tree.

On the side of them I was going to put blueberry bushes if people think there is enough room.

In front I was going to put a hedge to soften the blow of the missing grass for the neighbors.

Is this a good or bad idea. I am totally new to tree planting and don't want to make as many mistakes as I did with my vegetable garden last year.

I've included a rough sketch if my post is unclear. The orange cirlces are mandarins and blue circles are blueberries.

Thanks for any replies.

Comments (7)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago