Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HELP!!! My lemon tree leaves are turning yellow!!!

Posted by BingoNL none (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 4:38

Hi everyone,

I've bought a lemon tree a couple of months ago and it've been doing quite well (a lot of new growth and flower buds) until about 2 weeks ago. Its leaves (only 2 now) are starting to turn a bit yellow! The new growth also looks pale green (it thought it was normal but it's been like 2 months that way without turning dark green so I am starting to think if something is wrong). PLUS the fruits drop dramatically (It used to have like ~80 small fruits on and lately it drops about 5 to 10 / day, now there are maybe only 15 on the tree).

I give it deep water once every 2 days, apply liquid fertilizer weekly (about 10ml dissolved in 1 liter used on 2 trees). It gets almost full sun (south-facing window). Do you think it's getting sunburn? Or some iron / magnesium deficiency?

I'm totally new in this so please help. Any advice / suggestion is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance guys.

Bibi

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HELP!!! My lemon tree leaves are turning yellow!!!

And here is the new growth.

o

And some of the matured leaves (used to be really dark green in color).

o

It's probably some kind of nutrient deficiency or over watering. Looks similar to nitrogen and manganese deficiencies. I found a document with pictures to compare :)

Someone with more knowledge than me might have a better explanation.

Here is a link that might be useful: Nutrient Deficiency

o

Angela1234, thank you very much for your prompt reply! It really helps.

Indeed I am guessing it's iron + manganese deficiencies. I've been feeding it organic liquid fertilizer with no added micronutritions so maybe that's why.

Anyone has other ideas why it is like this? And of course how you suggest me to fix it. Thanks in advance.

o

Overwatering and nutrient deficiency.
Reduce watering frequency, and fertilize.

Josh

o