Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krazy_in_florida

Volck VS Neem oil?

Krazy-in-Florida
11 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to the citrus side of the forum.

I have 2 Satsuma trees in my yard that I planted years ago. The oldest of the 2 (9 years old) produces blooms and small citrus every year, only to turn yellow and fall off of the tree with in a month. The other issue was that the tree didn't grow much over it's life. I contacted my county agents office and was instructed to fertilize.

I followed their instructions, after all the citrus had fallen off. The tree grew 3' last year. I couldn't believe it. Well the next issue was that all the new leafs curled up bad. Turns out it was leaf miners. They instructed me to spray Volck oil on them.

My question is: Which is better? I read on here where everyone recommends Neem oil.

Comments (8)

• econ0003
    11 years ago

I have tried neem oil with spinosad and the citrus leaf miner still seems to damage the leaves on my citrus trees.

My best defense has been to promote flushing of new leaves in the early spring when citrus leaf miner is not active. Then they don't have a chance to damage the leaves.

• Krazy-in-Florida
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Promote flushing?

Could you please elaborate? The miners disfigured my trees so bad I want to make sure I control it this year. All my trees have exploded with new growth and I don't want them to get infected again.

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    11 years ago

You can treat Citrus Leafminers (CLM) with a combination of Volk oil and Spinosad, but you're going to need to spray very three weeks during your CLM season. The other option is to treat with systemic imidicloprid (Bayer Advanced Fruit and Vegetable Insect Control). Not organic, but very effective on CLM. Just need to apply 2 or 3 weeks before CLM hits in your area, to give it time to get up to the leaves. Then, a second treatment about 4 to 6 months later.

Patty S.

• eahamel