Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bedtime_gw

Do flowers = lemons?

bedtime
10 years ago

I'm noticing lots of flower budding on my meyer lemon tree. It's 5' and is in a 5 gallon pot... Two flowers have opened up and many more look on the way. If I had to guess theres about 50 - 100 flower buds on this tree.

Do the flowers turn into lemons when they die off and fall apart? Is it likely that 'ALL' flowers are meant to turn into lemons or do most not make it? My 'uneducated' guess is that beneath the yellow part of the flower the lemon forms. Is this correct?

Anyways, I'm new to this and would love some input and maybe some of your experience as to how this works for your plant and what to expect.

As usual, a picture, just because you all love pics! :)

Comments (66)

• Julio Macillas
    6 years ago

We have a lemon tree for about 8 years it has never given us any lemons, but this year it has flower buds does that mean it will give us lemons

• Matt
    6 years ago

@Julio 8 years and no flowers?

• kcandmilo
    6 years ago

Great question! Now that my trees are finally flowering, I was wondering if I should be doing any pollinating, or just leave it to the insects! I do have plenty of bees and flies buzzing around my garden most days, so perhaps I should nature do its thing?

• Jason (Zone 10b, San Diego)
    6 years ago

Let nature do its thing if you have pollinators buzzing around.

Julio, good chance that you will get lemons, if they get pollinated and the tree is healthy. Sounds like you may have grown your tree from seed if it has taken this long to fruit. It should be large enough to hold a decent amount.

I will often have 3-4 flowers at a single node set fruit. I will usually prune back all but 2, but if I miss any, the tree usually does it by itself. I just figure to save it some energy and focus everything into just a couple of lemons per node.

• jazmine9111
    6 years ago