Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joelzer

Young citrus tree leaves curling and dropping

joelzer
10 years ago

Hi! I purchased a young citrus tree (about 9 inches high) a few days ago and already the leaves are curling and dropping. I live in Canada and it's still very cold. I had the plant next to a window on a table so I'm wondering if it might have been too cold for it? I have moved it now but am worried it won't get enough sunlight. I live on the 9th floor of an apartment building so it will need to stay inside for now. The potting mix is moist but not saturated. I was hoping someone could give me some pointers to help bring it back as I'm new to owning plants. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• User
    10 years ago

Is the soil medium dry or moist? They will fold their leaves if too dry, but leaf drop will also occur if the soil is too wet. The window should not have done it unless those temps were really frigid.

Assuming your window temps were no lower than 35-40 F., would not assume it was the window. Citrus are hardier than many people assume. Do you know what kind it is btw?

P.S., Just got my Citrus out for the season last weekend after a brutal winter here as well.

• joelzer
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi. Thanks for the reply!

The soil I would say is dry moist. The temperature has been around 0 F here so the window would have been really cold.

It is a Calamondin tree.

The tag recommended it has around 50% sunlight but would you know if that means direct or I can have it sitting in my living room somewhere?

• orangelime1
    10 years ago

Joelzer it looks like there is some kind of shock in play. Did you buy it from a greenhouse nursery , because coming from a humid greenhouse to a dry house could severely shock a citrus , I have had this happen . When you carried your tree to the car after buying was it protected from the cold outside ? Might also be transplant shock. Is the air really dry in your apartment?

Brian

• joelzer
    Original Author