Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
majandra_gw

Why is my lemon tree not growing any branches?

Majandra
12 years ago

I have two lemon trees on my balcony, about 1,5 year old that grew out of seeds (found sprouting seeds inside of a very large lemon from someones lemon tree). It was fun to watch them grow but I realized that they are not growing any lateral branches. One tree is about 4 feet tall and the other one is very small for some reason. What should I do to have them start growing side branches and hopefully bloom someday??I am new to gardening and only planted these lemon seeds because they were sprouting and I thought it would be fun to have lemon trees and see if they would actually grow out of those seeds. Now I am much more involved and would like to take a better care of them.

Thank you for all responses and advices:)

Here is a picture of my young lemon trees. Maybe it will help:

{{gwi:4333}}

Comments (121)

• wendygair4
    7 years ago

Thanks for your reply i though myself the citrus soil was very rich and thick but thought that's what citrus like. It has been out side all summer I have just moved it the house as the nights are getting colder. If I repot in winter will my meyer keep its fruit or will it just fall off.

• wendygair4
    7 years ago

this was the lemon I got last year' and it was so sweet as u can see it grew new leafs no branches.i have also chopped that branch that at the top just looked so out of place it lost all of its leafs on it any way.

• myermike_1micha
    7 years ago

That's crazy! That lemon look almost as big as the plant itself..Wow..

It's hard to tell if fruit will hang on,,Very tree is different and every person that re pots does it differently...I will say that about Father's Day is optimal to re pot, but then you can any time of the year if you are very careful not to disturb the roots....

• wendygair4
    7 years ago