Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Why is my lemon tree not growing any branches?

Posted by Majandra CA (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 2, 11 at 18:57

I have two lemon trees on my balcony, about 1,5 year old that grew out of seeds (found sprouting seeds inside of a very large lemon from someones lemon tree). It was fun to watch them grow but I realized that they are not growing any lateral branches. One tree is about 4 feet tall and the other one is very small for some reason. What should I do to have them start growing side branches and hopefully bloom someday??I am new to gardening and only planted these lemon seeds because they were sprouting and I thought it would be fun to have lemon trees and see if they would actually grow out of those seeds. Now I am much more involved and would like to take a better care of them.

Thank you for all responses and advices:)

Here is a picture of my young lemon trees. Maybe it will help:

My Lemon Trees

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Why is my lemon tree not growing any branches?

Fertilize and stuff like that works pretty well. Urine is great for increasing the branching and foliage, by the way, but after the tree has obtained a good size and is blooming, it could throw off the balance of roots/leaves. Not sure how to explain, but a little urine is great to get it going, if you have any available at your house.

o

Thank you kumquat1 for your advices. Urine sounds a little unexpected:) but whatever it takes to get these babies to grow. I heard about pruning lemon trees but I assume there is nothing to prune here. Unless just the top of the trees but I guess that could kill them...

o