Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardingnoob

Help me id whats wrong with my sick tree

gardingnoob
10 years ago

Hi everyone. I am totally new to gardening and growing stuff at all. I got a few citrus trees and blue berry trees from home depot last August. I am growing them in JD barrels. Since my yard is prone to flooding. All my trees are doing will but one of them. This guy did had a lot of damage to his leaves when i got him from the store from insect eating them, but he started to grow new leaves after I got it home and in the pot. It started to flower about a month ago and had a fair amount of new growth. We had a few light rains and strong winds past few weeks. I had not had a chance to check on the plants when I went out side this guy looked like this. I like to find out what wrong with it so if it is insects or something else I can stop it before it spreads to my other Orange, satsuma and lemon trees.

Comments (6)

• gardingnoob
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I had a few more photos I wanted to upload so here one them

• gardingnoob
    Original Author
    10 years ago

lasts one thanks for any help

• honeybunny442
    10 years ago

Look at the stems, branches, tops and bottoms of leaves. Do you see any bugs? It doesn't look too bad to me from the photos but does look dry. The brown branches are goners so you can clip those. I would remove the green plastic tape holding your tree to the post. That's a favorite place for mealy bugs and scale to hide. (It often looks just fine but when you remove it there are lots of bugs underneath it.) You can give it a blast of horticultural oil (mix with water and spray on) on a cloudy cool day. What are the other conditions? How hot does that cement get? Does the cement reflect a lot of heat up into the plant? You also might want to gently slide the rootball out of the pot to check the roots.

• gardingnoob
    Original Author
    10 years ago