Return to the Citrus Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How long does it take for a lemon to mature from bud to mature?

Posted by loveisblind1 none (My Page) on
Wed, May 16, 12 at 14:35

Hi I have about 13 small little lemon buds on my 3 year old dwarf lemon tree. I had it for over 2 weeks now and it really doesn't look like it has gotten any bigger. How long does it take for it to grow from bud to a ripened lemon?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How long does it take for a lemon to mature from bud to matur

I have no personal experience but I have ready anywhere from 2-4 months depending on conditions. I would read up on your specific type of lemon (Meyer Lemon?) and see what the experts say.

-Doc Citrus

o

• Posted by TimSF CA Z8B/Sunset17 (My Page) on
    Wed, May 16, 12 at 17:05

You don't mention where you live, but here in CA, lemon season (particularly for Meyers) is during the winter months until about March (so certainly more than 2-4 months!). More mature trees will have a second minor harvest in the fall (and very old trees may bear almost year-round). However, since your tree is still quite young, I'd say count on a winter harvest.

Also, very young trees will lose most/all of their baby fruit. Not to worry/you should expect this, since citrus will automatically self thin, knowing how much fruit they can successfully hold to term (related to how many leaves are present).

Tim

o

Hello. I live in San diego, ca. And it is a meyer lemon. Wow, I will have to wait for the fall or winter? O_O

o