Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dr_citrus

My Meyer Lemon Tree!

Dr.Citrus
11 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to growing, in general, and I ordered a 3-4 year old Meyer Lemon Tree, and have had it for about 6 days now. I think it just got over the transplant shock yesterday. It seems to be growing. I noticed there were these little purple fuzzies coming out of the area where I had trimmed the tree a few days ago. I fertilized for the first time yesterday, using a teaspoon of Miracle Grow Blood Meal and a teaspoon of Jobes organic vegetable and tomato fertilizer. My tree is really green but when it came it had these white spots all over the leaves. They come off when you wipe them down but they seem to reappear later. They haven't seemed to have any negative effect but they still worry me and I don't like them. I have been using a paintbrush and plain water and trying to get them off each leaf. I have definitely removed a good amount of it but its still there. At first I thought it may have been a fungal growth or a powdery mildew but I am not sure. Anyway here are a few pictures. Please let me know if the little purple fuzzies are the start of flowers!!?!?!? Also, let me know what you think about the white spots. OHHHH and by the way, I have my tree by my window in my room and I water it every 3 or 4 days. In the day time its usually between 72-80 degrees and at night it is usually between 60 and 70 degrees with 60 being an ultimate low. I have 4 lights on the plant. 2 100W 3000K CFLS, 1 45W 2700K CFL, and 1 75W 7500K plus whatever sun it gets during the day. I have the lights on at timer: 12hours on, 12hours off - The time they are On is from 7am to 7pm.

Check out my pics and please answer my questions and feel free to comment and make suggestions!