Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mksmth_zone_6b

A few citrus basics.

Hello.

First off Please dont reply to this topic. Gardenweb doesnt have the ability to "sticky" a topic so in order for this post to stay up top where anyone and everyone can see it easily this must be the only reply. Unfortunately because of that you wont be able to post and tell me how Awesome I am :), but on the other hand you wont be able to tell me how Awful this is too, haha. If you dont find the answer to your questions here, please feel free to make a new topic so we can help you out further!

I started this to sort of have an FAQ topic of the most common items we see posted here. There is a dedicated FAQ section but it seems to be lacking a bit. It can be found at the top of the 1st page of this forum if you would like to check it out.
I am far from an expert in growing citrus and my experience is solely with container plants so my inground knowledge is not that great. There are several members here who live in the Citrus growing areas and they will be more than happy to help out.
Obviously there is a lot more to growing citrus but here I will highlight what seems to be the most common issues and questions asked here.

Soil & Watering
This is a big issue when it comes to citrus. The soil in your container, and for that matter the ground as well needs to be very well draining. Your trees roots do not like to be soaking wet, but they also dont like to be bone dry either. There are 1000's of ways to accomplish this and 1000's of recipes here and on the web. For the most part typical "potting soil" from the Store is not very friendly to your tree. A couple great resources to learn about soils are Garden Web's Container Forum and specifically this topic within that forum Container soils-Water Movement and Retention.

Without happy feet you get nothing to eat!!

Light