Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheryl_p_gw

land finally, now trees?

cheryl_p
11 years ago

Found (and bought) my cleared land just inland from Naples, Florida. I'm dreamin' of trees now! Could I tap all the expertise here and ask what recommendations you all would have for the sweetest (easy-peel would also be great) orange, tangerine and grapefruit that will do well here? I also want to grow lime, mango and avocado. Can they all be in the same vicinity? I have a little over 1 cleared acre to work with. What size would be recommended? Thanks for any and all help!

Comments (4)

• blazeaglory
    11 years ago

Im no expert but an Acre for non commercial is a nice size. If its just for you and family you should be in for a treat.

I would suggest some kind of Valencia for juice and Mandarins for flavor. I mean you can get as many trees as you want...hehehe

I was thinking about getting this tree next. Yosemite Gold Mandarin.

http://www.citrusvariety.ucr.edu/images/Yosemite_Gold008.jpg

• mike80
    11 years ago

Congratulations on acquiring some space for fruit trees. An acre is more than ample space for your trees especially with some foresight in your planting. The main thing is you have to decide what your goals are: how much of this area do you want for fruit trees?, How much work do you wish to do?, etc. Just to give you an idea I live on one and a quarter acre in Palm Beach County and have 50+ trees, with lots of room to spare. With that you have to remember I plan on controlling the size of my trees particularly ones that can get big like Mangos and Lychees and have planted my trees in a grid.