Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
projectx_gw

Soil aeration/drainage-scouring pad

ProjectX
10 years ago

I'm a newbie to the forums and growin things, I ordered an orange tree and am getting ready to mix up some potting soil. My ? is, since i need good draining and aerated soil I was also thinking of shredding a scouring pad (those green scrubbies you clean with) and mixing it in the soil??? Would this work, be bad, good or indifferent? I appreciate advice, help criticism anyone's willing to offer

Comments (10)

• jean001a
    10 years ago

As said in your other thread w/ same question -- it won't work.

Bite the bullet & obtain a pre-formulated commercial potting mix.

• ProjectX
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I saw your reply in the other thread and asked if you could explain why it wouldn't work???? I am new to this stuff and it is best to understand why things work or don't.

• poncirusguy6b452xx
    10 years ago

One part crushed brick by volume broken in pieces smaller than 1/2 in and bigger than 1/8 inch. One part sand from 1/32 inch t0 m3/16 inch. one part clay for micronutrients and rotted compost ( I use rotted leaves, wood, plant stems that have made it down to fine soil. Potting soil can be used in place of compost. Or you can make up a batch of alls gritty mix, it will cost some though.

how ever you can find broken bricks. sweep sand from the street, find rotted leaves and wood in a hollow tree and find clay in most yards. and make it for free.
    Let me know if you have a hard time finding clay and I list some on ebay for all to bid on. buyer pays shipping though.

Hay Don't feel bad. I was going to get about 50 of those pads and fill a 25 gallon pot to grow hydroponic roots in to disperse solution for a hyber hydroponics system and then decided not to

{{gwi:1912}}
    seed grown meiwa kumquat tree growing in my fortunell formuls

• ProjectX
    Original Author
    10 years ago