Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
korell_gw

New growth on Clementine tree

korell
9 years ago

I have an about 2-3 year old Nules Clementine that I purchased almost a year ago. It looks good, but has not grown much since last year, so I decided to feed it with Romeo Plant Food (24-14-14) from Four Winds Growers. I now see a lot of new growth developing at the base of several leaves and was wondering if that's "good" growth (see attached picture). Since it starts growing between leaf and stem it reminds me of suckers like on tomato plants, but everything I've read about citrus suckers is that they develop below the graft line on the root stock. These are definitely above the graft line in the main plant. I'm new to citrus plants, so my question is, should I let them grow or do they need to be pinched off?

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• norwoodn
    9 years ago

if I were you I would be like yaayyy. that there is a good sign. definitely dont be pinching anything unless its dead or infested, or a rootstock sucker!

the bigger leaves look like theyre curling like cigars, how often do you water?

• korell
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I'm definitely excited about the new growth :-)
    There is this one new branch, I swear I can see it grow. It has grown 6 inches in 2 weeks!
    I water about every week or two or when my soil tester shows it to be on the dry side (although it may have received some unintended rain lately). The leaf curling is strangely only on the branch in the foreground. The other ones look pretty good (as you may be able to see on the branch in the background).

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    9 years ago

This is perfectly normal new growth, korell.

Patty S.

• BarbJP 15-16/9B CA Bay Area
    9 years ago

I know this is old, but just want to give a shout out to Romeo fertilizer! It's a locally made fertilizer that's quite good!