Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
citrus_canuck

root temps

Citrus_canuck
10 years ago

I would love my trees to be outside, but the wind is just too strong right now, maybe later in the season, I hope!

My house never gets cooler than 65-70 right now, and closer to 80 on average once summer hits. I am curious if the room temp would keep them at a good temp, or if a heat source under the pots would help? I was thinking of using queen size electric blanket and weave it between my pots. HUGE savings vs using a heat/grow mat. But would it work?

They are under full spectrum lights 16 hours a day. I dont want issues with too much light and cool roots :( already noticing slight leaf loss due to my recent repotting of my meyers. Nothing to make me worry as there is AMAZING new growth on all the upper branches (only lower inner leaves dropping, 4 in 3 days)

Comments (4)

• makalu_gw
    10 years ago

I'm rather new at citrus (only a year or so) so please take my comments with a grain of salt.
    Based on the temps you're talking about, I wouldn't be worrying about the roots being too cold. My Meyer lemon continued flowering throughout the winter inside and my house was seldom above 60 degrees - and probably colder near the window where it was located. Once the daytime temps got above 63, my Kaffir lime broke dormancy and started growing / flowering.

I'd guess that the leaf loss is more due to the disturbance of repotting but from what I read a little leaf loss on a Meyer is totally normal and since yours is putting out new growth I'd guess you're ok.

• Citrus_canuck
    Original Author
    10 years ago