Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
racheln_gw

Dying dwarf citrus trees!

RachelN
10 years ago

A couple months ago, I ordered a dwarf lemon, orange and lime tree. They came and were about 6-8 inches high. At first I just planted in regular pots with potting soil and would water them when needed and spray with a mist everyday. A couple weeks ago, the leaves started to dry and curl up on the lime and lemon. I then studied up on dwarf citrus trees more and repotted them with draining stones and mesh in the bottem of the pot, used new soil meant for citrus trees and added fertilizer also intended for citrus trees. The leaves are all now completely gone from the lime and lemon, but the orange is completely fine! What do you think is going wrong with the 2, but is not happening to the orange? I am new to this and am getting really frustrated that my plants are dying! Please help!

Comments (24)

• RachelN
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well I would water until it would run out the bottem and then make sure that it wasnt "sitting" in any water in the bottem tray. But it seems like its never drying out! It seemed that it was weeks until it had to be watered again! Is this normal? And I had the fertilizer mixed into the soil, should i repot them?

• susanne42
    10 years ago

yes, i would take them out of the pot asap. gently remove all the soil from the roots. any mushy and stinky root needs to be cut off. re-pot in soil that has a good drainage (maybe want to look up al's gritty mix) use a wooden stick to test if you need to water. just because it runs out at the bottom doesn't mean that the soil particles don't store the water.
    what kind potting soil did you use? if you can not get the gritty mix, look for soil suitable for cacti. avoid any that says with moisture retention. make sure you have lots of draining holes in your pot
    let the soil dry out before watering again.
    good luck :)

• RachelN
    Original Author
    10 years ago